While shelving at work the other day, I came across this book: The Boy With The Pink Hair. The author of this copiously cute and inspiring children’s book is none other than Perez Hilton. I was immediately attracted to the title and spectacular illustrations (which is provided by Jen Hill). I just had to read it. Why not, right?

I’m happy I did. This children’s book has nothing to do with homosexuality like some may assume, but more with bullying, keeping hope, making friends, and finding your true passion. It tells a simple story of a little boy with bright “cotton-candy” hair who is picked on, makes a friend among the mean, and uses his special talent to show everyone he is exactly what he is: unique.

The story gives a compassionate view of Hilton, especially compared to the snarky humor and remarks about celebrities we are used to witnessing from him. This may be a children’s book, but I without a doubt would recommend it to any teen or adult who would enjoy having it in their personal library. I would also share this book with any and every child in my life. I hope you all decide to pick it up the next time you’re in a bookstore. (;

The Boy With The Pink Hair

Leave a Reply

