For a while now, I have been putting off reading the Southern Vampire series for a long long time. I remember seeing the first episode of True Blood when it first premiered, but didn’t continue after that because I had cancelled my HBO subscription. I realize now that was a very stupid thing to do.

I asked a coworker what was a good series that I could get into (so I could learn to expand my writing skill) and she recommended the Sookie Stackhouse novels (Southern Vampire Series). It wasn’t a huge jump in expanding my reading genres, but I am enjoying it so far. There are now twelve books in the series, so you can just image how badly I need to catch up.

After borrowing the first book from the public eLibrary, I was hooked and can’t stop. I finished Dead until Dark in the matter of three days. I would have done so sooner but I was busy with work and other personal matters.  By the time I was done, I was already downloading the second book, Living Dead in Dallas, within seconds. Lucky for me the eLibrary is open twenty four hours a day, seven days a week.

Ever since starting the Sookie Stackhouse novels, I have been obsessed with buying the first season of True Blood. Robert was going to take me to get it, but by the time we arrived at Best Buy they had closed. This was very depressing, but I got over it eventually.

I did get to watch season one, though. I’ll try my best not to let out any spoilers about the show or the books, so read on at your own risk.

My opinion of True Blood is that it is a pretty damn good show. Though there are some changes, such as new characters added and a few plot changes, I can honestly say I am as addicted to the television series as I am to the novels. But I have to also admit this: I can’t stand tv Sookie. It’s horrible I know, but the personality Anna Paquin has to portray makes the character look like a complete moron. Then again, Sookie isn’t supposed to be extremely smart either. I have nothing against Anna Paquin, she was wonderful in X-men and I just recently saw her in the latest Scream film (though her role was extremely small).

Robert claimed that the show reminded him too much of Twilight and I oddly agreed with him at first. It is a sad fact that from now on everything will be compared to Twilight for a long time, so no one get riled up. I am fully aware that True Blood and the Sookie Stackhouse novels existed before Twilight. Moving on: I feel that the insta-love between the main characters Bill Compton (vampire) and Sookie (abnormal human) automatically experience is officially over done.  I have seen/read it so many times it has burned a hole through my brain.

In the novel, Sookie knows she has a strong physical attraction to Bill but isn’t sure she loves him 100%. I am more satisfied with this than the obsession which is displayed on the series. A really great thing, though, is that Stephen Moyer and Anna Paquin are actually married, which is a great love story itself. And I will still watch it. Why? Because it is addicting.

Now my favorite character in the show is Lafayette. Reason being that he has that Life-Of-The-Party attitude. He is barely mentioned in the book, but I am glad to see that the writer’s have really put the characters to use in the show. I also love Tara, Lafayette’s cousin. She isn’t one of the original characters from the novel but her attitude and story is equally amazing. Rutina Wesley and Nelsan Ellis are both wonderful actors.

One thing I can be grateful for is all the attractive men that were cast for the show. I mean Alexander Skarsgård, Sam Trammell, Stephen Moyer, Ryan Kwanten, and Todd Lowe. Can it get any better? Of course it can and I bet it does.

Which is why I am dying to watch the other seasons. Don’t mind the pun.

Leave a Reply

