While at work yesterday, my darling cousin, Marie, asked me how I managed to get my homework done when I was so busy with so many things. Truth be told, I have no idea. I just get it done. I take classes on Tuesdays and Thursdays, leaving every other day for me to work. Today is the only day of the week where I don’t have one or the other to occupy my time. It wasn’t just homework she was implying about.

It was also the million other hobbies and personal stuff I like to do. In case some of you think I gave up, I am still knitting among writing, reading, exercising, drawing, going to school, work, and doing homework. Oh, and I’ve taken up sign language. I am a busy bee, yes, but I have no idea how I do it.

Bad habits are hard to break but if you follow me on GoodReads, you can see the worst one I have. I read too many books at once. Robert has questioned me if I ever get the story lines mixed up and all I can say to that is: Yes. I don’t try to do it on purpose but it just happens. I made a list of how many books I have purchased but haven’t had a chance to read because I was reading something else at the same time (Another bad habit of mine) and the list came up to four pages. Bad, I know. But I decided to read one book at a time. At least that had been my plan.

I had gotten as far as two books before the school semester started. As it turns out (which was more assumable, really) my English class has us reading The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls. It is an amazing memoir and I am enjoying it so far, but  I was also reading The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle. Now I’m not doing one of those book reviews like other blogs do, this is just another one of my rambling about things I like. The Last Unicorn is, of course, a classic- one I grew up with and one I never knew was a book. Shocking, right?

I had the animated film for The Last Unicorn since I was a small kid and had only come to learn it was a book in the last two years. I was finally able to pick it up and I can honestly say that the movie does follow the novel very well. I definitely recommend it if you haven’t read or seen either of them. Oh and just to throw out another Unicorn novel, Unicorn Bait by S. A. Hunter was a great read. Not really much about Unicorns but still a good story.

I was flattered to be complimented on my writing style the other day. My friend and fellow author, Augustyne, told me she enjoyed reading my blog and liked the way I wrote. I was more surprised than flattered , actually. When it comes to writing and blogging, I just put down what’s on my mind. Nothing fancy, only the nonsense which flows through my brain.

The compliment was really appreciated. I am glad to know what I say is interesting in some form or another. Then again, I’m positive people who didn’t like my blog or my writings would have mentioned it a long time ago. Luckily, I’m a likable person. Or so I’m told.

One thought on “Unicorns, Flattery, and Time Managment

Leave a Reply

