Extremely late in writing this, but I bet you can imagine what I have been up to for the last month: NaNoWriMo! That’s right, it’s National Novel Writing Month and I am proud to say I have reached goal this year, a day early too! On top of that I have been running in circles between work and school. All my free time just manages to go poof! and the world really likes to fight me when I have things to get done. So now that I have a smidge of time to do something productive, I decided it would be best to let everyone know I am alive. (Not that product, but oh well.)

NaNoWriMo was introduced to me by an high school English teacher (which I was, sadly, not in her class) who was the administrator of the creative writing club at our school: Papyrus & Quills. We were a pretty awesome group, if you ask me. Anyway, I originally signed up with the Young Writer’s Program for NaNoWriMo, which is for writers under the age of 18. I started but never finished, leaving the idea of that novel to float off in the wind like a withered Autumn leaf. It wasn’t until the following year, when I turned 18 and had to sign up for the regular “adult” NaNoWriMo page did I get pumped I put my all into it.

So, every November is National Writing Month where, all over the U.S., aspiring authors and the like sit down to jam in 2,000 words a day. Crazy, right? Well, with determination (and lots of late nights with a good amount of coffee) it can be done! Last year, I wrote started My Mother’s Secret with the goal to finish it as well. Sadly, I barely made it and with life going on as it did, I pushed it off to the side where it collected a fair amount of dust. Luckily, I found and began to work on it again, flying through the story faster than ever before. It is almost done and will need to go (desperately) through the editing process. It has begun to be edited, but that may take a few weeks max before it is available. This year, I decided to go a different route.

Instead of writing a supernatural story,  I went casual and wrote a dark romance/mystery. It was a good change of pace and even though I have reached my word goal, the story itself is not done. I don’t believe this is something I plan to finish anytime soon, but it may become something worth working on later. I’m sure readers can only imagine the mess it must be in since it was written in a serious frenzy.

Speaking of frenzy, I hope everyone is excited for next years Script Frenzy! I never really finish with that, but I always have fun doing it. 30 days, 100 pages. Easier said than done in my opinion. Actually, sounds easier than 50,000 words in 30 days.

To deter completely away from topic, like I normally do, I would assume that everyone has noticed the extra word meter of to the right labeled: Midnight Girl. This is a novella I have decided to work on spur of the moment. I will not mention anything about it other than that I will be working on it as I finish with My Mother’s Secret. I’m sure plenty of you will love it. I have yet to decide whether it will be available before My Mother’s Secret or after. There are some of you that have been wondering if I’ll ever finish My Mother’s Secret (sometimes I even wonder if I will) but I promise that it will be available soon.

Also, I would like to thank all of those who donated to the Red Cross in order to help Hurricane Sandy victims. I’m sure my thanks may not seem like much, but there were plenty of families effected by this horrible storm and every little thing helped. It is good to know we still have some decent people in the world.

But to cut things horribly short, I have more things to take care of and more writing to do, so stay tuned and I hope you all sign up for next year’s Script Frenzy and NaNoWriMo.

Leave a Reply

