It’s been a while since I’ve posted so I decided to take some time out of my day to do so. I haven’t had time to do much lately since school and work have been filling up my schedule a little more than I would like, but it can’t be helped. In truth, I would rather spend my time reading and writing than anything else. Anyway, if you follow me on Tumblr or Twitter, I bet you have noticed I’ve been reblogging a lot of photos and fan art for certain authors and books. There is a reason behind this, besides the fact that I’m a serial reblogger.

Recently I was asked who my favorite author was or who inspired me. I can admit I love many series and novels that I have read throughout my life, but it took up until recently to find an author who is truly my favorite and inspires me. I post plenty about Sailor Moon and I am sincere when I say the animé and manga have had a huge impact in my life (Not in one of those obssesive ways). It is extremely rare to find someone who can appreciate the awesomeness that Sailor Moon is. Except back in 2012, I was excited to find someone who did.

image

While browsing the bookstore I came upon a book with an interesting cover. After reading the summary, I decided to pick it up for the book club I was in. (Yes, people still have book clubs.) I didn’t realize at first that Marissa Meyer was also a fan of Sailor Moon but as soon as I read the book, I was amazed. My group of friends really enjoyed it and we all agreed that Meyer did some pretty awesome work. Not only did she do a fabulous retelling of Cinderella as a cyborg but she pulled in the beautiful futuristic world similar to that of Sailor Moon.

I’m probably being more bias than anything with this, but I don’t kid when I say I love Sailor Moon. So, of course, I might think someone who wrote my favorite childhood/adulthood animé into their novel is super awesome and should keep them coming. What female doesn’t want to be the princess of the moon and still kick some serious butt with her best friends?

Anyway, I digress. Marissa Meyer’s series, The Lunar Chronicles, makes my inner child and fangirl super happy and satisfied. The second novel in the series, Scarlet, follows the same Sailor Moon-ish environment but is a twist on the classic tale of Little Red Riding Hood. I’ll admit I have not yet had a chance to read it, but I can only imagine how spectacular it must be compared to the first one. To top that off, Little Red Riding Hood is my favorite fairy tale. Again, being super bias here.

Backtracking to inspiration, I want to apologize for my lack of updating and keeping everyone in the loop. It isn’t that I do not want to let everyone know what I am doing and how my writing is going along, I just don’t have the time I desire to do it. Not that all of you are 100% interested as to why I have yet to finish My Mother’s Secret and just really want it done. I don’t blame you. I really want to finish it too. It breaks my heart that I can’t simply sit down for the day and and knock it out of the way. I appreciate the patience to no end.image

As of late I have been having some issues with finding personal inspiration, at least when it comes to putting thought to paper. Some writers have music, others watch movies, and so on. I have no idea what my method is. Then again, that’s what makes me a writer, isn’t it? If I could write a novel in a matter of days then that would be splendid, but I don’t think I would be satisfied with the little effort it took to accomplish such a goal. If writing were easy, I’m sure everyone would be able to do it.

But I have set my goals and will use any means necessary to make them. Juggling school, work, and writing is no joke and I applaud those who have managed it for so long.

Besides that, I promise not to talk about Sailor Moon for a while. I become pretty damn motivated by it, I know, and I use almost every chance I get to talk about it. I’ll switch my fanatic mode off for a while and talk about other cool things. Again, if you have yet to pick up The Lunar Chronicles, I highly recommend you do so. You won’t regret it!

Leave a Reply

