I’m going to keep this post short.

Today completes my first week of JuNoWriMo, run by Becca J. Campbell, author of The Flawed Series. As of today, I’m happy to say that I have made some pretty great progress! If you’ve done NaNoWriMo in the past then you are familiar with out it works. The difference and fun part is that all participants can either start a new project or continue working on an old one. (Though, it still has to be your own original work.)

Generic-Rocket-624x379Whichever one you have done and/or prefer, the goal for both is to reach 50,000 at the end of 30 days. For some, that sounds nearly impossible. For me, it usually is. This year, it looks like I may actually make it!

This round is my second attempt at JuNoWriMo and I’m so excited with all the milestones I’ve reached so far. I haven’t worked at my word count today but, I will be getting to it once I’m done with this update. One of the hard things I’ve realized about myself, and others have about themselves, is that it is really hard to keep from editing while writing.

In fact, after doing a few words sprints with the JuNo group, I’ve found I’ve gotten through my daily word counts faster in as short as a three hours. It beats writing at my own pace since I usually use all time that I have to go back and fix things that can obviously be fixed later.

If you’re interested in joining, it isn’t too late! You can go to the website and sign up then get started or keeping working hard at your novel.This year, JuNoWriMo is on Facebook and Twitter and it has been a lot of fun connecting with other writers in so many ways. It’s also where we do our daily word sprints (via Twitter) and hold discussions about our novels and word counts (via Facebook). We’ve also had a few video chats on Periscope which is available for both Apple and Android. I’m new to the whole Periscope thing so, I understand very little of how it works. Though, I’m sure I’ll figure it all out with time.

My project happens to be one I started before JuNoWriMo so, my word count is looking more around 30k words than the 50k expected to be reached by the end of the month. My real goal is to write every day. I made sure to write something every day the week before JuNoWriMo began so, I’m on a fourteen day writing streak today.

If I keep this up, I may even reach and surpass my word count goal long before the thirty days is up… Well, maybe. It is only week one. Who knows what the future has in store for me. More so, since our baby is due for July first. We’ve made jokes about how I can still find ways to write if I go into labor early.  Fingers crossed our son will wait until Mami can finish her novel… Then again, who am I kidding? He’ll come when he wants.

My pregnancy has been going extremely well. Now we’re just anticipating his arrival. And it’s driving Robert and me absolutely crazy.

In between my JuNoWriMo project, I have also updated My Mother’s Secret this week. If you’d like to read the latest chapter, do remember I’ve moved over to Fictionpress and I am no longer using Wattpad for my original works. I may return to Wattpad in the future if I decide to do some FanFiction, which is always fun to do.

Welp, off I go to reach my word count! Until next time!

Leave a Reply

