Prior to having a baby, my husband and I had no idea how vital having a daily routine is. We used to just go with the flow, heading to work then back home and the occasional party on the weekends with friends. Now, we do our best to live by one. I can’t even imagine how or why we managed to live without it up until recently. After the arrival of our son, things were hectic and it felt impossible to get anything done. But, as always, we came out on top.

Out of it all, I have quite a few favorite parts of our routine. The first Of my many favorites is a cliché, but the honest truth. I love getting up in the morning to get my son from his crib. Like clockwork, I get out of bed and head straight to his room. Most often than not, he’s already wide awake and waiting for me with the biggest excitement I’ve ever seen. I mean, seriously, he’s too cute. I melt inside every time.

From there, I set him up in our bed with breakfast and milk or water while one of his favorite shows play on our television. This gives me a small amount of time to get some writing in before he demands my attention and he becomes the little hurricane he is.

My second favorite time has to be nap time. How typical. Another parent who enjoys quiet time, right? But, nap time is when I get to write during the day without interruptions and be fully aware that my baby is safe and sound. Getting him to sleep is great, too. We lie together until he gets bored of babbling to me about his day until he drifts off. Then I get to work, sometimes lying right next to him. As a matter of fact, as I write this post, it’s nap time. My mini-babe is sprawled out and fast asleep, while I’m focused on what needs to get done from now until he wakes up.

We’re up fairly early as it is, getting ready for the day ahead. If need be, I even go as far as setting everything up for breakfast the day before so we can be out the door once we’ve eaten. From work to doctor’s appointments, the gym, or having fun at the library or park, our days don’t tend to slow down. Even on a supposed day off, we’re running around. It’s calming to take a moment to sit back and do what I enjoy while mini-babe is resting. Of course, he’s just charging up for an evening of playtime with Daddy.

Which happens to be another favorite part of our routine. When my husband comes home from work, he immediately sends me off to work on my writing while he and our babe play. He’ll even make dinner and clean up without being asked. Talk about supportive! I have to admit, I don’t think there’s anything greater than the sound of our son happily giggling in the next room. Unless it’s the middle of the night, but that’s another topic.

There so many things about our daily routine that I thoroughly enjoy, but these are the ones I look forward to every day. They make getting up in the morning worth it. I hope you take the time to enjoy the little and big things of your routine. And, yes, even coffee breaks count.

Leave a Reply

