There are a lot of things we want to experience before we reach the end of our life. We want to travel to distant lands, try unpronounceable foods, fall in love, read a certain number of books in their lifetime, and so on. These things never mattered to me and it wasn’t until recently did I start thinking about things I’d like to do in my life before I kick the bucket.

A bucket list was usually referenced in films or books I’d come across, but not once did I consider making one for myself. I didn’t find it important and I kind of  still don’t. I guess my reasoning behind it is: it won’t matter to me if I complete my list or not before or by the time I die. What matters more to me is whether or not I’m happy with the person I’ve been and become.

Right now, my bucket list consist of finishing my novels, being a good influence for my son, and being fit and healthy. Maybe even go traveling to god knows where. Minus the traveling, these are the things I spend a lot of time thinking about and I have no shame in it. Don’t get me wrong. I have no quarrels with those in society who want to sky dive off the Eiffel Tower. Hell, if I found out I’m going to die by the end of the month, I’d probably want to give it a try too. 

But, for me, I know I’ll want to spend the last days, hours, minutes, and seconds being selfish and doing what pleases me. As of right now, it would be spending time with the people who mean the most to me. There’s no doubt I’ll kick being fit and healthy to the curb and eat whatever the hell I want, though. Maybe that’s something I can add to this recently created bucket list! I’m curious to how it will change and grow in the coming years…

Regardless, before the end, I just hope I’m happy.

Leave a Reply

