Young-Adult novels with male protagonists have a special place in my heart. It helps promote male readers who can better connect with the character. I say this because, as an avid reader, I find it rare to come across a popular book or series (excluding Harry Potter and Percy Jackson) following a guy on his adventures. 

There are definitely some titles in regular fiction for the average joe to pick up, but I doubt every man in the world wants to read super secret spy or army soldier stories. Guys are into fantasy, science fiction, and even romance just as much as the gals are.

This isn’t to say there aren’t any, just that I’m happy to have come across As many as I’ve had and I’ll love to read even more in the future.

Ransom Riggs’ Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is actually the first eBook I bought on my Nook. I’d been eyeing the hard copy on the shelf for some time, it’s eerie cover having caught my attention. By this point in my life, I’m more than certain I’d only ever read novels with female protagonists, so it was a great change of pace.

A horrible tragedy strikes sixteen-year-old Jacob and his family, leading him to a remote island off the coast of Wales. It is there where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores the abandoned building, it becomes evident that Miss Peregrine’s children were more than peculiar. They may have even been dangerous. With good reason they were quarantined on a deserted island. And somehow— as impossible as it may seem— they may still be alive.

Hitting the cons right off the bat, I believe my only complaint is how some scenes sort of dragged on. Maybe it was just me, but when Jacob was working at his job and eventually he and his dad traveled to the island, it felt like forever before anything happened. Which kind of sucked because every other scene was awesome and fast paced.

For pros, this shit was kind of scary. In a good way, though! The photos that Riggs includes (which he took them all himself!) contribute to the creepy factor of this story. They even made the novel realistic. Often, I found myself reading this at night and getting nervous to be left alone in the dark. I may have even finished this more because I was scared to turn off the light! Another great factor to the book are the peculiar children. Each one is unique with their ability and personal history. Riggs draws you in and you quickly begin to believe these are real individuals just waiting to be met at Miss Peregrine’s.

Honestly, I believe this review isn’t doing much justice to the book. I’m aware there’s a film adaption directed by Tom Burton available, but I have yet to see it. From what I gather, it doesn’t do the story justice. It may be due to the fact that it appears to be marketed toward children than the average young adult. Either way, read this book. It’s dark and creepy and full of secrets you’ll be dying to uncover.

Leave a Reply

