Lately, I’ve been heavily focused on writing and my novels and blogging that I’ve overworked my brain. Mentally, I feel like I can’t function, but I can’t stop. I know that if I do, I’ll trail off on all my progress and go days or weeks without writing a word. I’ll justify that I did a good job for so long that a month without working is no big deal. But it will be. I won’t even know what to do with myself for even a few hours of not creating or adding to my stories. Even now, I’m struggling to finish this post, but the desire to get it done is stronger than how exhausted I am.

I’m not crazy, though. Well, maybe a little bit, but I know my absolute limits. Yesterday, I decided to put a story on hiatus until I can get the kinks worked out. I had an awesome idea and the beginning and middle are great (to me, at least), but the rest of the middle and end have been a huge jumbled mess. I set aside time twice a month (technically a week) to figure it out and I have gotten nowhere. I think I knew it was time to put the story and idea down for a bit, though my stubbornness wasn’t going to let me.

On the bright side, I found an old novel I started back in high school. I think it’s safe to say I’ve had a long enough break from that one to work on it again. Not to toot my own horn, but I was impressed by my own storytelling skills. I’m kind of disappointed I went so long without working on this story…Hell, I even forgot about its existence for a while, but now I can finish the outline for it (which surprisingly I do remember) and at some point figure out a title for said work in progress.

Until then, I may need to space out my work or maybe take a nap or something in between sessions. It might be smart to dedicate a who day to not writing… if I can survive that. Who knows? I’m sure I’ll figure something out before I completely burn out.

Leave a Reply

