Surprise! Yeah, I bet you thought I’d write about Meyer’s other books before this one. Well, think again! The Host is amazingly less bad mouthed than The Twilight Saga, but I consider that a relief because I enjoyed this book as well as its siblings. There has been rumors for some time about a sequel for this (currently) stand alone novel and it’s been so long there may never actually be one. Luckily, The Host does well on its own.

Melanie Stryder refuses to fade away. The earth has been invaded by a species that take over the minds of human hosts while leaving their bodies intact. Wanderer, the invading “soul” who has been given Melanie’s body, didn’t expect to find its former tenant refusing to relinquish possession of her mind.

As Melanie fills Wanderer’s thoughts with visions of Jared, a human who still lives in hiding, Wanderer begins to yearn for a man she’s never met. Reluctant allies, Wanderer and Melanie set off to search for the man they both love.

Argue with me all you want, I think this is a good read. It isn’t without its cons, though. The only thing that I found bothersome is how long it takes to set up the story. It wasn’t exactly boring, but there’s a desert scene that feels like it’s four or five chapters long. It probably isn’t, but it definitely makes you feel like you’re in the desert for a long as time and it’s never ending. I’m being specific, but I’m not knowledgeable or a fan of overly dry lands. Obviously I’ll find it tedious to read about walking through them.

Now, you’d think I’d bug about how over done love triangles are, but give me a minute to explain why this is a pro. What starts of as a love triangle with only two people (technically three, since two share one body), ends up a love quad when on of the individuals in the shared host falls for someone else. Like, talk about taking a cliche and twisting it into something new. You might say that’s too messy to follow, but the conflict is too good to ignore. The relationships Wanderer establishes with the humans of Melanie’s former life are sweet. She’s aware she’s an outsider, but does her best to fit in and help others feel comfortable around her.

The movie is pretty good, too. It’s far from what I had envisioned when reading the book, but Hollywood is no where near perfect. I guess it isn’t exactly easy to protray an argument going on in your head with two versions of the same voice. In the end, all you’re doing is just standing there… like a crazy person.

Anyway, The Host is a twist to the usual love triangle and Meyer’s futuristic world of better functioning people is quite impressive and simple. These aliens come in and make everything easy and good. Hell, I’d live in a world that clean and organized. Of course, I’d like everyone to get their shot together and not need to be possessed by alien invaders. Then again, you can’t have your cake and eat it too.

If you’ve read this and feel differently about it, shoot a comment my way. Loved this book and have a recommendation, let me know. Until the book, loves! 

Leave a Reply

