I did a partial review for this because it’s quite long. The first one was mostly praise, but now that I’m done, I can honestly say this book fucked me up. I loved this novel, but the way things went down, I desperately want to hate it. You have to keep in mind, it’s the back story to the Queen of Hearts. Ain’t nothing nice about to happen. But everything that does happen makes you so hopeful. You want it all to work out, but it can’t. Obviously, it can’t.

Doing my best not to spoil anything, I’m not going to to do a con. I’d complain about the length again, but with the development of the story and characters and relationships, it’s necessary. You grow so much compassion and/or dislike for all the characters involved. Again, I’ll try to stay unbiased since I really do love Meyer’s previous series, but this is an entirely different form of storytelling. You find yourself really rooting for Catherine and hoping she gets everything she desires. Every time she seems to get a break, something goes wrong.

I will to gush about the use of Wonderland’s characters and laws of “magic” to progress the story. It is its own story, both related and unrelated to what we already know. What adds to its loveliness is Meyer’s creation of characters based on a nursery rhyme. I didn’t even realize it until halfway through the book, which I was thoroughly impressed when I did.

There is one character that is still stuck in my mind after reading this book: Jest. Meyer wrote him quite wonderfully, to the point where I’m somewhat annoyed. When describing Jest and all interactions with him (which I feel are too few), you find yourself enamoured quite easily. He’s so humanly imperfect that he’s perfect. Where other authors gush about how hot or handsome and perfectly place their hair is, Meyer notes the smeared charcoal liner under his eyes and his matted hair from his harlequin hat. From his first appearance, Jest leaves all in awe, including the reader.

It goes without saying that Jest has to be one of my favorite characters of this novel, aside from Hatter and, at the very end, Catherine. The character development of all three is quite touching and maddening in their own right. Prior to reading this, I had not once considered reading Lewis Carrol’s Work, but now it leaves me no choice other than to do so. Hopefully, it doesn’t leave me wanting to be as heartless as this did.

Leave a Reply

