Pretty Little Liars has come to an end this past week and what better way to celebrate than reviewing the first book of the series? I haven’t finished either the book or television series having left off with the third novel and the third season of both. Purely by coincidence, I swear.

Everyone has some to hide– especially high school juniors Spencer, Aria, Emily, and Hanna.

Spencer covets her sister’s boyfriend. Aria’s fantasizing about her English teacher. Emily’s crushing on the new girl at school. Hanna uses some ugly tricks to stay beautiful. But they’ve all kept an even bigger secret since their friend Alison vanished…

To be honest, I didn’t believe I had any cons for Pretty Little Liars. I mean, aside from glorifying Teacher/Student relationships. Everything else is raunchy or scandalous or dangerous. Teens couldn’t possibly get ideas to hook up with their teachers, their sibling’s significant others, or start vomiting to lose weight, right? The only normal one in all of this is poor Emily, who develops feelings for the new girl int the neighborhood. These aren’t exactly things we should be sharing with young readers, but hopefully since the girls are keeping their habits a secret, it registers as things they shouldn’t do. Minus, Emily. There is nothing wrong with being gay, but there is something very wrong for a family or community to shame a person for it.

Pro wise, Shepard has definitely written a piece of work filled with juicy drama and suspense. Each girl’s story keeps you flipping the page, dying to know what happens next. While I may disagree with the audience Pretty Little Liars is aimed to, I do think this is a good book and enjoyed reading it as far as I did.Spencer is, without a doubt, my favorite liar of the bunch and I hold a lot of compassion for Emily. If you care, Hannah is my favorite on the show. As is Aria’s mom, but that’s because I adore Holly Marie Combs from her time on Charmed.

Die hard fan or thinking about starting the series in either or both medias will be worth your while. With both officially wrapped, I think it’s time for me to catch up soon.

Leave a Reply

