On the tails of finishing my novel for Junowrimo, I decided to read the novel, Empath, written by the lovely Becca J. Campbell. If you don’t already know she’s a co-creator of the awesome and pretty much spokesperson for the awesome approach to creative writing for the summer. I’ve had opportunity to speak with Becca during some Twitter sprints and other social media platforms for the event. It’s very easy to say she is a doll and a great supportive force when it comes making time to write and finishing your novel. All biases aside, let’s continue on to my review of her novel.

SUMMERY OF NOVEL

My one con is highly unfair, but it’s reasonable. Campbell is an indie author, meaning she’s put some hell of a lot of work into writing this and getting it out for people to read. I’m pretty sure Empath is in both eBook and paperback. With that being mentioned, there are some formatting errors and typos that make you fumble as you read the story. They’re not often, but when they come up, they’re not hard to miss either. It can be annoying and, while I understand the issue, others may not be so kind to it. I do want to stress that self-publish isn’t the easiest thing in the world. Depending on where a novel is uploaded and published, an author can submit a beautifully formatted project and the website or program can mess everything up. The typos happen to any author and publishing company, but it can get bothersome when you’re deep in the world of a novel and suddenly a sentence doesn’t make sense because a word repeats itself or weirdly cuts off.

For pros, I am really impressed with Campbell’s story. I can honestly say I have never read anything like it, which is extremely refreshing. At first I believed it was a true hardcore paranormal novel, but the way it’s written makes me feel like their “flaws” are just normal every day issues. Not ideal circumstances, but something they could manage if they pay enough attention– like a rash.

Jade is an empath literally just trying to function in the world like every one else. I enjoy her interaction with both Logan and Cam, but I have to say that I’m leaning toward Cam in this love triangle. The disturbing character Ethan does his job well and gives me the creeps, making me worry for anyone who crosses his path when the story transitions to his on-goings.

It’s also quite evident Campbell is an outdoors kind of woman because her knowledge of outdoor sports and activities is impressive. When with Cam and his siblings, Jade goes rock climbing and river rafting, which they kindly explain to her what to do. Nothing too detailed, but enough to even inform you.

Reading Empath felt like an eyeopener for a different kind of paranormal romance. I truly believe and feel that I’ve read a book outside my normal choice of genre, though, in truth, I didn’t. I definitely look forward to reading the rest of the Flawed series and anything else that Campbell writes in the future. If you decide to read this, you will too.

Leave a Reply

